MY SO CALLED PROFESSIONAL PHOTOSHOOT IN PARIS AND THE FINAL REVEAL

Well here are the photos from my so called professional photo shoot in Paris. The photographer sent me roughy 6o plus photos and I could only use six. And even these six photos required heavy retouching and color correcting. Though there was nothing I could do about the harsh shadows on my face, no amount of retouching can correct this.

Shooting in direct sunlight at 11:00 AM with a wide angle lens is not how to shoot a portraiture. This photographer is obviously inexperienced, despite claiming to work professionally for magazines. Or worse: she didn’t give a rats ass on making her client look good. It seemed her only goal was to make sure the background was in focus. Well anyone can get these results with a high end point and shoot.

Again these decisions come from a lack of experience. She also seemed to be rushing through the shoot and seemed annoyed when I could not find the meeting place

In addition the photos were grainy. When I zoomed in they were heavily speckled which is grain, and generally occurs when shooting in low light and using a high ISO. Higher ISO’s cause grain. But shooting at the brightest part of the day and using a high ISO? Well probably because she was shooting at high F Stop to get everything in focus and had to compensate with a higher ISO. Again these decisions come from a lack of experience. She also seemed to be rushing through the shoot, walking ahead of me, and seemed annoyed when I could not find the meeting place. And she even had the nerve to contact me and ask me to leave a good review. Nuts.

.

Follow:
alimackin@gmail.com
alimackin@gmail.com

Allie founder and creative director for ALLIE NYC

Find me on: Twitter | Instagram

20 Comments

  1. October 22, 2018 / 7:45 am

    Oh no, I can see why you were unhappy. I would have been so upset myself. When it comes to AirBNB I’ve only ever had pleasent experiences with AirBNB, though three days before I was set t leave for Croatia our rental cancelled on us and we scrambled to find something within budget during SUPER PEAK SEASON in Split. Suffice to say we ended up renting a penthouse with gorgeous views, but a penthouse that cost us an extra $300 over our budget because there was just nothing else for us. Aside from that I’ve been fortunate, though I’m always hearing about negative tales. I can’t say that I’d hire a photographer or other service from there. I’d rather Instagram to really see their portfolio, but then again anyone and everyone fakes it there too so what are we supposed to do?!

    Sxx
    daringcoco.com

  2. October 22, 2018 / 8:29 am

    Ohhh no, I can only imagine what a nightmare it was working with such a photographer. At least your outfit is killer and Paris looks very good on you!
    Have a great one!

    http://www.fashionradi.com

  3. October 22, 2018 / 10:36 am

    SO sorry you had such a negative experience but your outfit looks damn good.

    xo
    Pinksole

  4. Nina
    October 22, 2018 / 2:54 pm

    I totally understand you, it would be frustrating for me to, if I had to pay and didn’t get the professional photos. Hopefully, next year you will have better luck with your photographers. Happy new week, Allie. xx

    Nina’s Style Blog

  5. October 22, 2018 / 3:07 pm

    I remember cringing the first time you mentioned this photoshoot Allie. What a terrible experience and there is no way this person is a professional in any way that she wouldn’t know the best times of day to shoot or that it’s actually more important for your subject to be in focus than the background Such a shame with Air BNB because I know you have had good experiences with them in the past. I can’t believe this so called “photographer” actually had the nerve to contact you and ask for a good review. I hope you did exactly the opposite.

  6. October 22, 2018 / 7:05 pm

    I am sorry you had such a bad experience, I hope she didn’t steal you too much money, at least!
    Anyway, let me say that you look beautiful, even if photos are not perfect.
    xx Elisa
    http://www.francinesplaceblog.com
    DIY & LIFESTYLE BLOG

  7. October 23, 2018 / 2:16 am

    Oh I can see how grainy these photos are, no wonder you were not impressed! I hope you did not have to pay a lot for them. I’d say maybe Air Bnb should stick to just apartments but it seems you had no luck there either! What a negative side for an otherwise fun trip!

    Hope that you are having a nice start to your week so far 🙂

    Away From The Blue Blog

  8. October 23, 2018 / 8:25 am

    Oh sounds like you had a great time in Paris my dear! The photos are amazing – I like it how they always capture the perfect Parisian vibes 🙂
    xx, Carmen – https://carmitive.com

  9. October 23, 2018 / 3:40 pm

    Oh no Allie! Sorry you had to go through such a bad experience. I will definitely feel the same if I was in your shoes. Looking at these photos, I so agree with you. Not professional! Did you have to pay for that? Your outfit is so chic though.

    http://missymayification.co.uk

  10. October 23, 2018 / 5:54 pm

    Wow, how unpleasant. Yeah, I agree the images are not good but your outfit looks lovely, especially the blazer. Fortunately, I have only had positive experiences with Air BNB but have stopped using them, we now just rent a private flat in areas we like, it’s a lot better depending on the city. How shocking, so sorry that you had this experience.
    FASHION TALES

  11. Gabrielle
    October 23, 2018 / 9:26 pm

    Oh I’m sorry to hear the photographer wasn’t what you had expected; I can imagine how disappointed I would have been as well. All the same, i think you lovely anyway and your outfit fits in wonderfully with the Parisian setting!

    aglassofice.com x

  12. October 24, 2018 / 12:27 pm

    I’m sorry you had such a horrible experience! Your outfit is so chic though!

    Jill – Doused in Pink

  13. October 24, 2018 / 5:47 pm

    Ughhhh I’m so sorry you had to experience this especially if you were looking forward to having some beautiful photos. Something similar happened to me with my maternity photos and it’s so disappointing. I hope you left an honest review to let others know. You still came out lovely in your pictures.
    -PerlaGiselle | iamperlita.com
    instagram.com/iamperlita

  14. October 24, 2018 / 7:23 pm

    WOw! These pics came out amazing, Allie! Makes me miss Paris so much! Glad to hear that you had an amazing trip!!
    xoxo, Vanessa
    http://www.WhatWouldVWear.com

  15. October 26, 2018 / 4:43 am

    Your photos are lovely dear! You really can’t run out of beautiful things to take photos with in the beautiful city of Paris. Nicely done!
    Jessica | notjessfashion.com

  16. October 26, 2018 / 5:37 pm

    It’s really hard to shoot in bright light. That sucks your experience wasn’t good. I think you look great though. AirBNB can be a hit or miss. Hopefully your next one makes up for this one!

    Xo,
    Miki
    http://mikialamode.com

  17. October 29, 2018 / 2:50 am

    It’s obvious that she is inexperienced and I am so sorry that your stay and this photoshoot was such a disaster! I hope you leave her a horrible review. The nerve contacting you for a good review. Ugh!

  18. November 4, 2018 / 6:10 pm

    Oh god, that is terrible. It seems you know more about photography than she probably did. You did a really good job fixing them because I actually think they look good! Although the graininess isn’t what you wanted, it actually gives a nice vintage look to them. Also, I really like your outfit too! Hopefully in the future you’ll have a better experience with a different photographer.

    x Kara | http://karascloset.net

  19. November 6, 2018 / 11:47 am

    Hey Allie, so sad to hear this.

    I totally understand you and I am sorry that you have gone through this experience, it is when you plan everything perfectly but some detail escapes your hands and everything begins to fall apart. Still, I think that the photos are not bad and fortunately a good editing job can -sometimes- rescue some images.

    Speaking about the Airbnb experiences I have not tried them, but I have used the platform a lot for accommodation plenty of times and so far I have not had any bad experience, but I just wrote an article for that and I think that when it comes to work trips always I will prefer a hotel for the comforts that will give to my itinerary, although in the end everything is a bit of luck.

    All the best!


Looking for Something?